Broken Branches

Here’s another piece from the group, visualising the perspective of something by or of a river. Like many of my others it was partly inspired by the fate of David Oluwale. As such I decided against titling it with a pun such as ‘river sticks’!

I was once of the tree, held up high,

Till a playful child snapped me down.

and carried me from my brethren.

A toy for the moment.

Then roughly thrown,

Into the waters, which took me far

The flow of the current was now my home.

As I travel far, the world frightens me.

Though nothing as much as the thing that is man,

That cast it’s brother aside like a stone.

Leave a Reply

